2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball TournamentCat:未分類

The 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament was a single-elimination tournament of 68 teams to determine the men’s National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I college basketball national champion for its 2017–18 season. The 80th annual edition of the tournament started on March 13, 2018, and reasoned with the championship game on April 2 in the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. During the first round, UMBC became the first 16-seed to conquer a 1-seed in the men’s championship by defeating Virginia 74–54. [1][2] For the first time in tournament history, not one of the four top seeded teams in a single region (the South) advanced to the Sweet 16. Additionally, the tournament featured the very first regional final matchup of a 9-seed (Kansas State) and also an 11-seed (Loyola-Chicago). Villanova, Michigan, Kansas, and Loyola-Chicago, the”Cinderella team” of this championship, reached the Final Four. Villanova defeated Michigan in the championship match, 79–62. Atlantic Sun Conference champion Lipscomb made its NCAA tournament debut. The 2018 championship was the first time since 1978 that not one of the six Division I college basketball-playing schools based in the Washington, DC metropolitan region — American, Georgetown, George Mason, George Washington, Howard, and Maryland — made the NCAA Tournament. Read more: usavallblacks.com