National League WestCat:未分類

The National League West is Just One of the three Branches of the National League of Major League Baseball in North America (including Canada).

This Section was made for the 1969 year when the National League expanded to 12 teams by adding the San Diego Padres and the Montreal Expos. For purpose of maintaining a regular-season of all 162 matches, half of the groups were put to the new East Division and half into the brand new West Division. Within each division, the teams played 18 games each against their five branch mates (90 games), and also 12 games against the teams in the opposite division (72 games), totaling 162 games. Regardless of the geography, the owners of the Chicago Cubs insisted their team be placed into the East Division along with the teams in New York , Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh. Also, the owners of the St. Louis Cardinals wanted that group to maintain the same branch with their natural competitions of the Cubs. Like the American League did, the league might have insisted on a alignment. But the owners were concerned about what they believed would be a massive imbalance in the strength of the branches. From the past two seasons before realignment, the Cardinals, Giants, and Cubs finished 1-2-3 in the National League standings. The owners were concerned about putting those groups in exactly the exact same branch, thereby creating one very strong division (West) and one weak one (East). Given all of this, the owners of the Atlanta Braves and the Cincinnati Reds agreed to being placed in the West Division, although Atlanta and Cincinnati are both in the Eastern Time Zone. Consequently the West Division had clubs disperse all of the way from the East to the Pacific Coast, and scattered over four time zones. The East Division was spread across the Eastern Time Zone and the Central Time Zone – despite the fact that the National League had six teams in the Eastern Time Zone and six teams disperse involving the Central Time Zone and the Pacific Time Zone. All this increased the traveling distances and times for all of the teams, and it also made radio broadcasting and TV broadcasts of the games more challenging to schedule. The Braves and the Reds needed to travel all the way to California three times during every baseball season, and the 3 groups in California had to go to Atlanta, Cincinnati, and Houston three occasions also. From time to time, the trouble could be relieved to get them by playing some games in Chicago, St. Louis, or Pittsburgh on the exact same long road trips. The 1994 addition of the Central Division would completely remedy these problems, when the Reds and Braves moved into the NL Central and NL East respectively. Read more here: